Cebu · Philippines · Photography · Travel

Fort San Pedro

 

I have been in Cebu for almost 2 years now, and there’s still a lot that I don’t know about it! Most people are attracted to Cebu because of it’s breathtaking beaches and sceneries. But most of them are unaware that the beauty of Cebu lies in it’s rich history. One of these is a fortress that can be seen just outside the port area: Fort San Pedro.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset
Fort San Pedro

The last time I went there, it was closed. Well, it WAS 6 in the morning. But then, I finally found the time to visit the place again and I made sure that it was open.

Fort San Pedro is open from 8AM-8PM, Monday to Sunday, and it is definitely a go-to place when you’re in Cebu. It is located in A. Pigafetta St. Cebu City. It’s a stone’s throw away from Pier Uno and the Post Office.

Upon entering, you can already see some paintings and pictures. And if you’re a history nut like me, then you are in for a treat!

img_6913  img_6914

The entrance fee is really affordable:

img_0111

Fort San Pedro, according to what I read in the little info plaques that are scattered around the fort, is the oldest and smallest fort in the Philippines. Through the years, it had served as a prison, barracks, classrooms, prison camp, hospital, and finally, an army camp.

Aside from the ones that you see in the entrance, there are 2 more rooms inside the fort that is filled with old pictures, paintings and historical relics. Make sure you read all of them so that you may be able to have an idea of how Cebu looked like in the past.

The fort is triangular in shape and it only takes about 5-10 minutes to circle the whole place. It has a lot of scenic areas that is absolutely perfect for photoshoots! I went there alone so I mostly just took pictures of the place.

I will insert below a slideshow of some of the shots that I took inside.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Here’s a video I made during my trip there, hope you like it!

I hope you enjoyed reading this and please comment down below if you have any suggestions or helpful tips about my writing and photography, and if you have ideas for my next blog! I’m very new to this so I need all the help I can get. Thank you!

                                                        X O X O

Shane

Processed with VSCO with g3 preset

Leave a Reply

